2019: List of PDP presidential aspirants who want Buhari’s job

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has scheduled October 5 and 6, for its national convention where its flag bearer for the 2019 presidential election will emerge. Below is a list of the presidential aspirants who are interested in taking over Buhari’s job in 2019.

1. Atiku Abubakar Former vice president Atiku Abubakar is one of the prominent PDP presidential aspirants. If he wins the presidential ticket or contests the 2019 presidential election under any other political party, he will be taking his fifth shot at becoming Nigerian president, The ICIR notes.

2. Sule Lamido Sule Lamido, a two-time governor of Jigawa state is another prominent member of the PDP with presidential ambition. At 70, by August 30, Lamido insists he possesses the qualities needed to move Nigeria forward.

3. Ahmed Makarfi Makarfi is also a former governor (Kaduna state). After spending two terms as governor, Makarfi contested and won the Kaduna North senatorial election and went on to spend another eight years in the National Assembly. He was appointed PDP National caretaker committee at a contentious national convention held in Port-Harcourt, the Rivers state capital. He handed over to Uche Secondus after a tumultuous regime characterized by a series of court cases.

4. Ibrahim Hassan Dankwambo Dankwambo hails from Gombe state. He is also a two-time governor of the state.

5. Attahiru Bafarawa Attahiru Bafarawa, 64, is bent on having another go at the Nigerian presidency after a failed first attempt in 2007. He ran under the platform of the Democratic Peoples Party (DPP) that he formed.

6. Kabiru Tanimu Turaki Kabiru Tanimu Turaki, from Kebbi state, is a former minister of special duties and inter-governmental affairs between 2013 and 2015, former supervising minister, Ministry of Labour and Productivity between 2014 and 2015, and current chairman of PDP Former Ministers’ Forum of Nigeria.

7. Datti Baba-Ahmed Yusuf Datti Baba-Ahmed was elected a member of House of Representatives in 2003 under the All Nigeria People’s Party (ANPP) representing Zaria federal constituency in Kaduna state. In 2011, he defeated Ahmed Makarfi, incumbent senator and former governor of Kaduna state, for the Kaduna North senatorial seat.

8. Senator Bukola Saraki The embattled Senate president, Saraki, is the latest to indicate his interest in the presidency. He is one of the heavyweight senators who left the All Progressives Congress (APC) for the PDP recently. On Wednesday, August 15, Saraki in an interview with Bloomberg said he is considering running against President Muhammadu Buhari in the 2019 general elections.

Meanwhile, NAIJ.com previously reported that Saraki urged President Buhari as a matter of urgency to probe the siege laid to the National Assembly on Tuesday, August 7 by the operatives of the Department of State Services. Saraki in a tweet on Tuesday, August 14, said that the serious questions about the siege laid to the National Assembly could only be answered through a thorough and neutral investigation.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Response